Tuesday, 28 December 2010

Review: Enchanted No More

  Title: Enchanted No More
Author: Robin D. Owens
Series: Mystic Circle (book 1)
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication Date: 01/01/2011
Book source: Netgalley
My Rating: 6/10
Buy the book


“I’ll do the mission,” Jenni told Tage. “you win.”
As one of the last surviving Mistweavers, half-blood Jenni knows what it’s like to be caught between two worlds: the faery and the human. But the time has come to choose. The Lightfolk require her unique talent for balancing the elements to fend off a dangerous enemy—and rescue her missing brother.
Only for Rothly will Jenni deal with those who destroyed her life. Only for him will she agree to work with her ex-lover, Tage, and revisit the darkest corners of her soul. For a reckoning is at hand, and she alone has the power to hold back the forces of dark....

My thoughts:

I found this to be one of those reads that I can finish but one that the story doesn’t stick with me after, if that makes sense. I didn’t have the hype after reading a really good book that I normally get but just – this might sound a bit mean – an acceptance that the book is finished so that I can put it aside and start another straight after.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t think it was a bad read per se but it just didn’t intrigue me as I wanted it to and was just interesting enough to be able to finish it.

I liked the different characters in the story even if I thought some could have been developed more into the story. I liked the story behind the characters and the fact that they had a past a long time before the story had even started. It gave them depth that maybe couldn’t have been achieved otherwise.

The plot was definitely new and original but it just lacked a little something in my opinion. It wasn’t thrilling where it should be which could be because I anticipated what was going to happen or I just couldn’t get into the story as much as I could have on the whole.

About the author:

Robin D. Owens has been writing longer than she cares to recall. Her fantasy/futuristic romances finally found a home at Berkley with the issuance of HeartMate in December 2001. She credits the telepathic cat with attitude in selling that book. Since then, Heart Thief was a launch book for Berkley Sensation in June 2003, Heart Duel was published in April 2004, and Heart Choice in July 2005. Her Luna Books series includes shape-shifting fairies and average American women Summoned into another world to fight monstrous evil. The first, Guardian of Honor, came out in February 2005 and Sorceress of Faith will be out in February 2006. My best writing moment— winning the Romance Writers of America RITA award! My worst writing moment is every time a rejection hits.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

No comments: